Sunday, January 22, 2012

Deity worship not standard in ISKCON

[PADA: Some ISKCON temples offer (Gaura Keshava / Basu Ghosha / Baroda ISKCON style) bhogha to Krishna first, then to Prabhupada, and then to the GBC guru (reverses the order of the system of offering to the guru first). Other temples offer to the GBC guru, then to Prabhupada, then the deities (see below). It seems even the GBC has different standards for deity worship. I have been asked if there is a ritvik site that gives all the proper worship process, I am not sure? Any suggestions? In any case, we follow the "old" standard of offering to the guru Srila Prabhupada first, then up the chain of guru succession and to the deity. ys pd]   

Official ISKCON site:
Requesting the Lord to Accept the Arati (puspanjali)

While ringing a bell, offer flower petals to the lotus feet of your spiritual master and then to each Deity’s lotus feet, requesting each Deity to accept the arati ceremony. The order of offering puspanjali is as follows: your spiritual master, Srila Prabhupada, Lord Nityananda, Lord Caitanya, Srimati Subhadra, Lord Baladeva, Lord Jagannatha, Srimati Radharani, and Lord Krsna. While offering the petals, chant esa puspanjalih and the mula-mantra for each Deity. Or in simplified worship, simply say, “Please accept these flowers of surrender.” 

(Substitute water from the panca-patra for flower petals if necessary, holding a spoonful of water toward each personality and then discarding it in the visarjaniya-patra; or simply offer Them flower petals in the mind.)


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. they say that this is an ecstatic kirtan? Any idea?


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.