Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Conquer Sex Attraction And Capture Krishna


We should act in such a way in this life that after giving up this body, we will become liberated from the bondage of repeated birth and death. This is called jivan-mukti. Srila Viraraghava Acharya states that in the Chandogya Upaninad there are eight symptoms of a jivan-mukta, a person who is already liberated even when living in this body.

1. The first symptom of one so liberated is that he is freed from all sinful activity (apahata-papa). As long as one is under the clutches of maya in the material energy, one has to engage in sinful activity. Bhagavad-gita describes such people as dushkrtinaha, which indicates that they are always engaged in sinful activity. One who is liberated in this life does not commit any sinful activities. Sinful activity involves illicit sex, meat-eating, intoxication and gambling.

2. Another symptom of a liberated person is vijara, which indicates that he is not subjected to the miseries of old age.

3. Another symptom is vimatyu. A liberated person prepares himself in such a way that he does not take on any more material bodies, which are destined to die. In other words. he does not fall down again to repeat birth and death.

4. Another symptom is vishoka, which indicates that he is callous to material distress and happiness.

5. Another is vijighatsa, which indicates that he no longer desires material enjoyment.

6. Another symptom is apipata, which means that he has no desire other than to engage in the devotional service of Krishna, his dear most pursuable Lord.

7. A further symptom is satya-kama, which indicates that all his desires are directed to the Supreme Truth, Krishna. He does not want anything else. He is satya-sankalpa.

8. Whatever he desires is fulfilled by the grace of Krishna. First of all, he does not desire anything for his material benefit, and secondly if he desires anything at all, he simply desires to serve the Supreme Lord. That desire is fulfilled by the Lord's grace. That is called satya-sankalpa.

From Srimad Bhagavatam 5.4.5 Purport

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.